Copy
View this email in your browser

DigitalFUTURES DOCTORAL CONSORTIUM

ARCHITECTURE AND PHILOSOPHY

The aim of DigitalFUTURES is to democratize architectural education by making important architectural ideas available for free to architects and students across the globe, regardless of gender, religion, ethnicity, age or economic standing. Education, we believe, should be a human right, and not a privilege of the wealthy.

 

The principle behind the Doctoral Consortium is that it no longer makes sense for individual professors to teach an individual group of students in an individual classroom, when we can now all use a digital global platform to bring the very best professors to students across the globe.

What can architects learn from philosophy?

 

This course introduces the thinking of Walter Benjamin, Michel Foucault, Gilbert Simondon, Jean Baudrillard, Jacques Derrida, Hélène Cixous, Gilles Deleuze, Fredric Jameson, and Judith Butler, and considers how it might inform the discourse of architecture and urbanism. The course aims to open up new ways of understanding architecture and to introduce a new set of theoretical ‘tools’ to rethink architectural theory.

 

Each session will consist of presentations by some of the world’s leading architectural theorists, philosophers and cultural theorists, and a subsequent panel discussion.

 

This course is free and open to masters and doctoral students around the world.

                                                

17 October     (10.00 am EST; 10.00 pm China; 4.00 pm CET)

Walter Benjamin

Graeme Gilloch

Esther Leslie

 

24 October     (10.00 am EST; 10.00 pm China; 4.00 pm CET)

Jean Baudrillard

Francesco Proto

 

31 October     (10.00 am EST; 10.00 pm China; 3.00 pm CET)

Michel Foucault

Sanford Kwinter (TBC)

Peter Macapia

Behnaz Farahi

 

7 November    (10.00 am EST; 11.00 pm China; 4.00 pm CET)

Fredric Jameson

Michael Speaks

Michael Hays

 

14 November  (10.00 am EST; 11.00 pm China; 4.00 pm CET)

Jacques Derrida / Hélène Cixous

Peter Eisenman

Doina Petrescu

Bernard Tschumi

 

20/21 Nov. (8.00 pm EST, 20 Nov; 9.00 am China, 21 Nov; 2.00 am CET, 21 Nov.)

Gilles Deleuze 

Hélène Frichot

 

28 November  (10.00 am EST; 11.00 pm China; 4.00 pm CET)

Judith Butler

Helen Runting

Amelia Jones (TBC)

 

5 December    (10.00 am EST; 11.00 pm China; 4.00 pm CET)

Gilbert Simondon

Marisabel Marratt

Viktoria Luisa-Barbo

 

Start times: 

Please note that start times change on 31 October and 7 November due to daylight savings; also the session on 20/21 November will also start at a different time to the usual one.

 

Students may apply to join on ZOOM, or follow the live-stream. All other inquiries, please contact Marisabel Marratt mmarratt3@gatech.edu and Neil Leach leachneil@gmail.com

 

DigitalFUTURES YouTube: https://youtube.com/digitalfuturesworld/live

 

DigitalFUTURES Bilibili: https://space.bilibili.com/588667146

 

The course is hosted by the Doctor of Design program at Florida International University, and forms a sequel to the Architecture and Philosophy course hosted by Tongji University in June 2021: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jdwBtUY8xuA&list=PLtuu5idZ57EV7MDsFPJzzIz3lG6vI5ZsK

 

Recordings of all sessions will be uploaded to the DigitalFUTURES YouTube library.

 

Join Our Community @ Discord: CLICK HERE

 

DigitalFUTURES Team

info@digitalfutures.world

 

www.digitalfutures.design

 
Twitter
Facebook
Website
Instagram
YouTube
Copyright © 2021 DigitalFUTURES.world & DigitalFUTURES.young, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
DigitalFUTURES.world · 38 Wuwei Creative Industrial Park Bldg 36 · 1436 Jingonglu, Pudongxinqu Shanghai · Shanghai, Shanghai 200129 · China

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp