Copy
March 22, 2020
View this email in your browser

Dear Shambhala Community,
 
We want to acknowledge that this is an unsettling and disruptive time for many, if not most, people in our global sangha; and we continue to extend compassion towards all who are affected by the pandemic. As per our previous communications, you will find further information regarding COVID-19 on Shambhala’s Community Health Resource page, as well as guidance from the WHO and the CDC.
 
We feel it is more important than ever to support the community through living our Shambhala principles and developing Code of Conduct policies.
 
In recognition of the reports of harm to children in Shambhala as revealed by the Wickwire Holm, An Olive Branch reports and others, we, along with many others, have diligently worked to create a Child Protection Policy. This policy, which applies throughout Shambhala, is an essential measure to ensure that the growing minds and bodies of our children are respected, and that each child is protected from sexual abuse.
 
The policy can be found here:

 
In order to be as accurate as possible, translations of the Child Protection Policy will be reviewed by a lawyer in each country prior to being released. They will be available as soon as possible.
 
We encourage everyone to review the policy. Centre and group leadership are invited to join us in a live discussion on March 31st at 11am Pacific // 12pm Mountain // 13pm Central // 2pm Eastern // 3pm Atlantic // 7pm GMT // 8pm CET // 7am NZT April 1st. Webinar invitations will be sent out to center leaders later today, and the recording will be made available to all members following the recording.
 
The Child Protection Policy is only the first release of what will be a completely new Code of Conduct. Shortly, we will release the new draft Code of Conduct policies, including a basic code of conduct and specific policies that address sexual misconduct, discrimination, and the responsibilities of those holding positions of authority in Shambhala. In the Spring and Summer, the community will be invited and encouraged to give feedback on the proposed policies, and we will facilitate opportunities for dialogue on issues raised by these policies. We hope you will join us in these efforts, and we look forward to hearing your questions, concerns and ideas.


Yours in the vision of Shambhala,
The Shambhala Board 
Veronika Bauer
Mark Blumenfeld
John Cobb
Jen Crow
Susan Ryan
Paulina Varas
Code of Conduct Support Group
 Claudia Arnau
 Jim Fladmark
Greg Lubkin 
Jan-Frans Sturm
Kristine McCutcheon
Susie Vincent
Director of Community Care and Conduct
Tara Templin

 
Copyright © 2020 Shambhala, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list