Copy
Welcome to ASI's monthly newsletter
View this email in your browser

ASI News - October 2016

 

Consultation on ASI Chain of Custody (CoC) Standard launched - comments invited

ASI has today opened a public comment period on the draft ASI Chain of Custody (CoC) Standard and accompanying Guidance document. Comments and feedback from all interested stakeholders are invited during this period, which runs until 23 December 2016.

ASI’s certification program aims to drive uptake of standards that foster responsible production, sourcing and stewardship of aluminium by companies in the supply chain. The ASI Chain of Custody (CoC) Standard is being developed as a means to connect assurance about business’ practices under the ASI Performance Standard, to claims about aluminium and responsible sourcing.  


The ASI CoC Standard defines requirements for Entities and Facilities implementing chain of custody management systems, including systems for sourcing, accounting and transfer of CoC Material and Eligible Scrap. It covers both primary and secondary (recycled) production, throughout the aluminium supply chain.  

An area where the ASI Standards Committee is particularly seeking feedback is the proposal for a Market Credits system, as an alternative to the Mass Balance model for downstream supply chain participants where direct supply is not achievable. An FAQ on this proposal has been developed to provide more background and several specific questions included in the comments form.


ASI plans to launch its full certification program by the end of 2017.  Before the CoC Standard is finalised, an additional public comment period will take place in mid-2017 on a subsequent draft that takes into account the comments received in this round. Feedback and comments received during each public comment period, and how they are addressed, will be summarised and made available on the ASI website.

Note:  A French translation of the draft 3 CoC Standard is currently being developed and will be added to the ASI website as soon as it is available.

 
For all drafts and supporting material for the draft ASI Chain of Custody Standard and comment period, visit: http://aluminium-stewardship.org/asi-standards/chain-of-custody-standard/ 

Please contact the ASI Secretariat with any questions or comments: 
info@aluminium-stewardship.org 

Register for free ASI webinars on the draft CoC Standard
 

Join us at one of two webinars in November to learn more about the draft ASI CoC Standard and how you can provide feedback.

The webinars will be one hour in length and include time for questions and answers. For those who can't make the dates, the sessions will also be recorded and made available on the ASI website.

Webinar 1 - Tuesday November 15, 2016 
London 9am
CET 10am
Johannesburg 11am
Moscow 12pm
Dubai 1pm
Delhi 2.30pm
Bangkok 4pm
Beijing 5pm
Melbourne 8pm

Webinar 2 - Thursday November 17, 2016 (Note: will be Friday November 18 in Australia and New Zealand)
Melbourne 8am (Friday November 18)
Auckland 10am (Friday November 18)
San Francisco 1pm
Salt Lake City 2pm
Nashville 3pm
Washington DC 4pm
Paramaribo 6pm
Rio de Janeiro 7pm

Register here for one of the above sessions. We look forward to your participation!

ASI MEMBERSHIP NEWS

ASI's membership has grown with 3 new members, bringing ASI's total membership to 35.  ASI is delighted with the expanding participation in our program and warmly welcomes all of our new members!

For more information about ASI membership, visit the Join ASI page on our website.

Energia Potior joins ASI as General Supporter member
 

Energia Potior (to master energy) is a collaboration between Auckland UniServices Limited and Yunca Holdings Limited.

Geoff Matthews, Vice President, says both partners have been supplying innovative services to the aluminium smelting industry for over 30 years, helping smelters become more efficient and sustainable. "We aim to still be delivering excellence to the industry in another 30 years. Consequently, we believe it is important for the industry’s long-term sustainability and global credibility that we embrace and support the work of the ASI." 


For more information, visit www.energiapotior.com
 

Keep America Beautiful joins ASI as Civil Society member
 

A leading national nonprofit in the US, Keep America Beautiful inspires and educates people to take action every day to improve and beautify their community environment. Established in 1953, Keep America Beautiful provides the expertise, programs and resources to help people End Littering, Improve Recycling, and Beautify America’s Communities. The organization is driven by the work and passion of more than 600 community-based Keep America Beautiful affiliates, millions of volunteers, and the support of corporate partners, municipalities, elected officials, and individuals. 

"Keep America Beautiful is pleased to be a civil society member of the Aluminum Sustainability Initiative and its journey in developing independent certification of responsible aluminum production throughout the value chain. This certification process is of growing importance as consumers expectations increase for assurance of safe and sustainable products – from production, application and end of life recycling
," says Brenda Pulley, Senior Vice President Recycling.

For more information, visit kab.org
 

Verité joins ASI as Civil Society member


Verité's mission is to ensure that people around the world work under safe, fair, and legal conditions. The organisation aims to use the leverage of international business to improve the income, security, and freedom of workers worldwide. It partners with all institutions that are committed to supporting fair and humane labor within workplaces and supply chains, and creating policy change.

"Verité looks forward to supporting ASI in achieving its mission to foster greater responsibility in aluminium production and supply chains. We bring our wealth of experience in research, training, assessments and advocacy to enhance respect for labour and human rights across the sector. Establishing strong normative and due diligence frameworks will be a key priority, and we are excited to work together with the broad cross-section of stakeholders within ASI to advance these goals," says Dr. Shawn MacDonald, CEO.


For more information, visit www.verite.org 
 

NEW ON THE ASI WEBSITE

New Standards Committee minutes

Minutes of ASI Standards Committee meetings are published on the ASI website. Two sets of September 2016 minutes are now available at:
http://aluminium-stewardship.org/asi-standards-committee/


New Standards Committee members and Co-Chairs elected
Annemarie Goedmakers (Chimbo Foundation) and Jostein Soreide (Norsk Hydro) have been elected the Co-Chairs of the Standards Committee - we sincerely thank them for stepping forward to act in these roles.

We are also pleased to welcome representatives from the above new Civil Society members to the ASI Standards Committee: Brenda Pulley, Senior Vice President Recycling at Keep America Beautiful and Philip Hunter, Program Director at Verité.

Bios for all Standards Committee members are available at:
http://aluminium-stewardship.org/asi-standards-committee/

 

Draft Chain of Custody (CoC) - Public Consultation

The CoC page has been updated with all the consultation materials, including drafts of the standard and guidance, a comments form, an FAQ and 3 pre-recorded webinars (about 10 minutes each). 
http://aluminium-stewardship.org/asi-standards/chain-of-custody-standard/

UPCOMING EVENTS

Over the coming months, ASI will present at the following events: Follow the links to find out more on the ASI Event Calendar.

STAY IN TOUCH WITH ASI

  Join the ASI mailing list if you didn't receive this newsletter directly

    Follow ASI on LinkedIn
  Follow ASI on Twitter
    Keep up to date on upcoming ASI events via the ASI Events Calendar






This email was sent to info@aluminium-stewardship.org
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Aluminium Stewardship Initiative · PO Box 4061 · Balwyn East, Vic 3103 · Australia

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp