Not Displaying Correctly? View the Online Version
Dear Members and Friends
The 2017 NSW Women Lawyers Achievement Awards Gala Presentation Dinner is just around the corner and tickets are selling out fast.
We look forward to recognising and celebrating the achievements of outstanding women lawyers, mentors and firms that have achieved excellence in their area of practice and helped create opportunities for women in the law.  For full details of the categories and criteria for each of the 2017 NSW Women Lawyers Achievement Awards, please click here.
We are grateful for the support of the Law Society of NSW, the NSW Bar Association, the Department of Justice, the Association of Corporate Counsel, Australia and the Workplace Gender Equality Agency for the Awards this year.  We also extend our special thanks to each of the Award Prize Sponsors, affiliated supporting organisations, the NSW Bar Association as our Major Awards Sponsor and Allygroup as Awards Media Sponsor for their generous contributions.
We have been absolutely blown away by the calibre of the Award nominees this year and announce the Finalists as follows:
  Change Champion of the Year, sponsored by The College of Law
Kate Eastman SCSenior Counsel, 6 St James Hall Chambers
Katrina RathiePartner in Charge, Sydney, King & Wood Mallesons
Michelle Painter SCBarrister, 9 Selborne Chambers 
Rani NarullaSenior Associate - Dispute Resolution, Baker McKenzie
Samantha DalyPartner, McCullough Robertson
Sher CampbellLecturer, Newcastle Law School

Outstanding Law Firm of the Year, sponsored by Watts McCray Lawyers
Carroll & O'Dea Lawyers
Clayton Utz
Gilbert + Tobin
King & Wood Mallesons
Perdriau Family Lawyers 
Mills Oakley
NLS Law 
Source Legal
TressCox Lawyers

Woman Lawyer of the Year, sponsored by Thomson Reuters
Kristy PerdriauLawyer/Principal, Perdriau Family Lawyers 
Kathryn ViegasDirector, Nomos Legal 
Kylie BeckhouseDirector Family Law, Legal Aid NSW
Louise MasseyPartner and Head of Dispute Resolution, Dentons
Michelle Painter SCBarrister, 9 Selborne Chambers 
Rebekah GilesPartner, Kennedys 
Teresa NicolettiPartner, Mills Oakley

Barrister of the Year, sponsored by Carroll & O’Dea Lawyers
Chrissa Loukas SCBarrister, Public Defenders Chambers
Michelle Painter SCBarrister, 9 Selborne Chambers 
Rachel FrancoisBarrister, Level 22 Chambers
Renée BianchiBarrister, 13th Floor, St. James Hall Chambers

Private Practice Lawyer of the Year, sponsored by the Law Society of NSW
Alison Michael EidDirector/Principal, Legal One Services Pty Ltd
Amy ZhangSenior Associate, Harmers Workplace Lawyers 
Fay CalderonePartner, DibbsBarker
Fiona NewhamDirector, PricewaterhouseCoopers Legal
Kate O'GradyPartner, Watts McCray Lawyers
Kathryn ViegasDirector, Nomos Legal 
Kristy PerdriauLawyer/Principal, Perdriau Family Lawyers 
Miranda NagySpecial Counsel, Maurice Blackburn 
Nada VujatPartner, Emery Partners
Teresa NicolettiPartner, Mills Oakley

Corporate Counsel of the Year, sponsored by Thomson Reuters
Alex RodoredaHead of Dispute Resolutions, Westpac Banking Corporation
Anna-Athanasia DervenisVice President Legal, Brookfield Property Partners
Cherry Siu-HoSenior Manager, Legal Services Unit, Governance &  Legal Division, University of Wollongong
Lindy HuntHead of Legal, Audit, Risk & Compliance, Club Plus Superannuation

Community Lawyer or Academic of the Year, sponsored by Department of Justice
Alison RyanSenior Solicitor, Refugee Advice & Casework Service (Aust) Inc (RACS)
Amy BurtonSenior Associate, Salvos Legal
Bronwyn AmbrogettiManaging Solicitor, Hunter Community Legal Centre
Gabrielle ApplebyUNSW Sydney, Faculty of Law
Sarah HopkinsChair of Just Reinvest NSW; Project Director, Maranguka Justice Reinvestment Project; Managing Solicitor of Justice Projects, Aboriginal Legal Service ACT/NSW
Sher CampbellLecturer, Newcastle Law School 
Ting LimPolicy Lawyer, NSW Bar Association
Virginia MarshallPrincipal Solicitor, Triple BL Legal

Mentor of the Year, sponsored by Bartier Perry Lawyers
Claire BibbySenior Vice President Legal & General Counsel, Brookfield
Emma HodgmanPartner, DibbsBarker
Kristy PerdriauLawyer/Principal, Perdriau Family Lawyers 
Michelle Painter SCBarrister, 9 Selborne Chambers 
Miranda NagySpecial Counsel, Maurice Blackburn
Neisha ShepherdPrincipal Solicitor, NLS Law 
Rebekah GilesPartner, Kennedys 
Susan FrankhamPrincipal Solicitor, Frankham Family Lawyers

Rising Star of the Year, sponsored by UNSW Law – Continuing Legal Education
Amy ZhangSenior Associate, Harmers Workplace Lawyers
Claire BurkeAssociate, Baker McKenzie
Elizabeth Blanch, Lawyer, Maddocks
Hannah MorrisAssociate, Mills Oakley
Ingrid KingBarrister, 10 St James Hall Chambers
Kerrie DuongAssociate, Baker McKenzie
Marina KofmanIAG Intern, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
Priti JoshiCorporate & Commercial Lawyer, Bartier Perry
Stefani RussoLegal Counsel, IRESS Limited
Victoria GravesAssociate, Mills Oakley

We cannot wait to announce the winners of each Award at the Awards Gala Presentation Dinner on Friday, 11 August 2017 at the Grand Ballroom, Doltone House Hyde Park, Sydney where we will be joined by the Honourable Chief Justice Susan Kiefel AC of the High Court of Australia as our guest speaker.  In addition, a Life Achievement award will be presented and Life Membership honours announced.  
As bookings for the Awards Gala Presentation Dinner are almost at capacity, online registrations have now closed.  Please contact our office with any enquiries and click here to download the event flyer and registration form.
Kind regards

Holly Lam

We wish to thank and acknowledge the support of:

Support the organisation that has supported women in law since 1952.

For further information on joining or to renew your membership please contact
our office or visit our website.

Click here for the Membership Form.



Please feel free to pass this email onto colleagues and ensure they are on our email list for future updates and invitations.
For more information contact us:

Women Lawyers’ Association of NSW Inc.
PO Box R1120 Royal Exchange NSW 1225
Ph: 0466 157 087

Copyright © 2017 Women Lawyers' Association of NSW, All rights reserved.

Privacy | Disclaimer | ABN 19 092 974 880
You are receiving this email because you have opted in by contacting us or registering your interest in our events.

If you wish to continue receiving updates and invitations via email no action is required. To unsubscribe from this newsletter, please click the following link:
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences