Not Displaying Correctly? View the Online Version
Dear Members and Friends
Held on Friday, 11 August 2017 at the Grand Ballroom, Doltone House Hyde Park, Sydney which was packed to capacity, we were joined by the Honourable Chief Justice Susan Kiefel AC of the High Court of Australia as our guest speaker.  The Chief Justice shared some amusing renditions of her early years at the Bar and similar stories of her colleagues, during a personal address to the audience.
Most importantly, we now have the first woman chief justice of the High Court of Australia. Chief Justice Kiefel – you are an inspiration to us all. WLANSW's theme for 2017 has been ‘Tomorrow’s Leaders’.... We are living in hugely disruptive times... And it’s not just clients that are demanding more, lawyers are demanding more too... While we all want meaning and purpose in our work; the ability to decide what work we do and when; and access to justice for all, technology is actually making all these things possible.’ - Holly Lam, President. Please click here for the opening address by WLANSW President, Holly Lam
Pictured below from the photo gallery (L-R):
- Some of the WLANSW team – Kathryn McKenzie; Sher Campbell; Jackie Vincent; Vivienne Storey; Ashley Cameron; Chief Justice Kiefel; Justice Mathews, Lisa To, Susana Staka, Holly Lam
- The Acting Justice Jane Mathews AO, WLANSW Patron, with The Honourable Chief Justice Susan Keifel AC
‘Woman Lawyer of the Year’ winner, Kylie Beckhouse, Director Family Law, Legal Aid NSW with some of her team
- Justice Mathews; Catherine Roberts, Head of Practical Law, Thomson Reuters; ‘Corporate Counsel of the Year’ winner Anna-Athanasia DervenisVice President Legal, Brookfield Property Partners; Holly Lam

Please click here to view the photo gallery.  Please click here for the video and please note that it does not include the personal address by Chief Justice Kiefel at her request

The NSW Women Lawyers Achievement Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of outstanding women lawyers, mentors and firms that have achieved excellence in their area of practice and helped create opportunities for women in the law.

We are grateful for the support of the Law Society of NSW, the NSW Bar Association, the Department of Justice, the Association of Corporate Counsel, Australia and the Workplace Gender Equality Agency for the Awards this year. We also extend our special thanks to each of the Award Prize Sponsors, affiliated supporting organisations, the NSW Bar Association as our Major Awards Sponsor and Allygroup as Awards Media Sponsor for their generous contributions. Our thanks also to the Law Society of NSW as our Principal Sponsor for their ongoing support, and Crowd & Co as a new Silver Sponsor this year.

Our Award Winners:
Change Champion of the Year, sponsored by The College of Law
Winner: Kate Eastman SC
Outstanding Law Firm of the Year, sponsored by Watts McCray Lawyers
Winner: Gilbert + Tobin
Woman Lawyer of the Year, sponsored by Thomson Reuters
Winner: Kylie Beckhouse
Barrister of the Year, sponsored by Carroll & O’Dea Lawyers
Winner: Chrissa Loukas SC
Private Practice Lawyer of the Year, sponsored by the Law Society of NSW
Winner: Kate O’Grady
Highly Commended: Teresa Nicoletti
Corporate Counsel of the Year, sponsored by Thomson Reuters
Winner: Anna-Athanasia Dervenis
Community Lawyer or Academic of the Yearsponsored by Department of Justice
Winner: Sarah Hopkins
Highly Commended: Gabrielle Appleby
Mentor of the Year, sponsored by Bartier Perry
Winner: Claire Bibby
Rising Star of the Year, sponsored by UNSW Law – Continuing Legal Education
Winner: Hannah Morris
The Lifetime Achievement Award was announced by our Patron, the Honourable Acting Justice Jane Mathews AO, and presented to the Honourable Chief Justice Susan Kiefel AC
Life Membership Honours were awarded to:
Louise Byrne, Frederick Jordan Chambers
Chris Ronalds AM SC, Frederick Jordan Chambers
Elizabeth Willis

Thank you and congratulations to all our winners, finalists, nominees and nominators, members and guests for your overwhelming support of our Awards. We look forward to seeing you in 2019! 
Please click here for the Awards Dinner Program with details of all our finalists.  
Please click here for the Nomination Formclick here for the Sponsorship Proposal, and click here for the Awards Dinner Flyer.

Support the organisation that has supported women in law since 1952.
For further information on joining or to renew your membership please contact
our office or visit our website.
Click here for the Membership Form.


Please feel free to pass this email onto colleagues and ensure they are on our email list for future updates and invitations.
For more information contact us:

Women Lawyers’ Association of NSW Inc.
PO Box R1120 Royal Exchange NSW 1225
Ph: 0466 157 087 Fax: 1300 332 183

Copyright © 2017 Women Lawyers' Association of NSW, All rights reserved.

Privacy | Disclaimer | ABN 19 092 974 880
You are receiving this email because you have opted in by contacting us or registering your interest in our events.

You are receiving this email because you have opted in by contacting us or registering your interest in our events.

If you wish to continue receiving updates and invitations via email no action is required. To unsubscribe from this newsletter, please click the following link:
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences