View this email in your browser


Marci Kladnik, President
PO Box 592
Los Alamos, CA 93440
Deb Barnes,
Vice President

8702 NW 18th Ct.
Coral Springs FL  33071

Wendy Christensen, Secretary
256 Timbertop Road
New Ipswich, NH 03071
Lynn Miller, Treasurer
14 Patrick Henry Court
Monroe NJ 08831
JaneA Kelley (2016)
Layla Morgan Wilde (2016)
Paul Glassner (2017)
Susan Willett (2017)
Immediate Past President
Dusty Rainbolt, ACCBC

Past President
Lorie Huston, DVM
(In memoriam)
Amy Shojai, CABC

CWA Blog Editor
Janiss Garza

Password: cat2016tree

LIKE CWA Facebook

Digital Mews


November 6, 2016

This is a message from your CWA President, Marci Kladnik
It has just been confirmed that TWO NEW "FEAR FREE" SPECIAL AWARDS have been added to the 2016 Communication Contest. The icing on the cake is BOTH of them award $2,000 to the lucky winners! Meowsa! Lets welcome our new Fear Free EMERALD LEVEL sponsor by submitting lots of entries for these awards. There is still time to write one if you don’t already have a piece that qualifies.
More good news is that the description and criteria for the NEW CATALYST COUNCIL SPECIAL AWARD has come in. Adopting from shelters is one of my special interests, as I know it is for most of CWA, so I expect a lot of competition for this award. The Catalyst Council has been a longtime sponsor and upped their giving this year, for which we are very grateful.
A bit of sad news is that three Special Awards were just this week not renewed. They are the AdoptAShelter Award, and the two Litter Lifter awards. My understanding is that it was a fiscal decision for both, but rumor has it that at least one sponsor did not realize any perceived benefit on their end. All our Special Awards are more than just a way of honoring good communication skills -- they are also a means of broadcasting our sponsors’ missions. Keep this in mind as you create your entries, so we keep our sponsors happy.
You will note on the new posted list of SPECIAL AWARDS that two are still unconfirmed, the AAFP and Dr. Jim Richards/Cornell. I have been told that the AAFP award will be voted on in mid December, and I do expect it to be reaffirmed. I also expect the Cornell one to remain, although I have received no response to my queries to date.

Check out the complete Contest Overview for all rules and details;  and don't forget you can pay all your contest fees via Paypal. Good Luck!
That’s the mews for now. Contact me or your Contest Chair, Arden Moore if you have any questions.
Write on and good luck everyone! 
Prez Marci
Copyright © 2016 Cat Writers' Association, Inc., All rights reserved.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp

This email was sent to
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Cat Writers' Association, Inc. · PO Box 1904 · Sherman, Tx 75091 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp