View this email in your browser


Marci Kladnik, President
PO Box 592
Los Alamos, CA 93440
BJ Bangs, Vice President
PO Box 215
Phillips ME 04966
Wendy Christensen, Secretary
256 Timbertop Road
New Ipswich, NH 03071
Lynn Miller, Treasurer
14 Patrick Henry Court
Monroe NJ 08831
Deborah Barnes (2015)
Layla Morgan Wilde (2016)
Linda Miles (2016)
Immediate Past President
Dusty Rainbolt, ACCBC

Past President
Lorie Huston, DVM
Founder/Lifetime Director
Conference/Events Chair
Amy Shojai, CABC

CWA Blog Editor
Layla Morgan Wilde

Password: kibblebits

LIKE CWA Facebook

Digital Mews


January 8, 2016


The Cat Writers' Association and BlogPaws are proud to announce that the 2015 CWA Contest is open!

In November, 1994, the newly-formed Cat Writers’ Association presented awards to the winners of its very first writing competition. 

Today, the spirit of writing well and striving for excellence lives on. That first competition had 5 regular categories and 10 sponsored special awards. Since then, the awards have been broadened, and now include dozens of regular categories and special awards. 


The 2015 contest entry eligibility period was extended until December 31, 2015, this year (18 months rather than the usual 12), so that the contest period coincides with CWA’s fiscal year. The 2015 awards will be presented at the 2016 CWA Awards Banquet in Phoenix, AZ. at the BlogPaws conference.

The new contest period of 18 months is a one-time chance to have your entry included. Entries must have been published between June 16, 2014, and December 31, 2015 to be eligible, and postmarked no later than January 18, 2016. For 2016 and beyond, eligibility dates will correspond to the calendar year (January 1 — December 31).

ANYONE (CWA member or not) can enter the contest--but all entries must be "cat focused" work, published by Dec. 31, 2015.

There are categories for all types of work: books, blogs, columns, articles, poetry, ilustrations, photography and more. Don't forget the Special Awards, with cash prizes.

For full details and entry forms, see the CWA's Contest page:

The gala CWA Awards Banquet will be held Friday night, June 24, 2016, at the BlogPaws conference venue (separate ticket required!).


Here's how your entries will be judged: Qualified entries are evaluated by professional members of the Cat Writers’ Association. Certificates of Excellence are awarded to entries that receive an average score of 90 or higher from three professional CWA members. The Certificate winner with the highest score becomes the winner of the Muse Medallion for the category in which it was entered. In addition to the highly sought-after Muse Medallions, numerous special awards have been made possible through the generosity of corporate and private sponsors. All winners will be announced at the Cat Writers’ Association Awards Banquet.

Happy New Year! And Good Luck to All!

Amy Shojai, Pet Care Books and Thrillers with BITE!

Yvonne DiVita, BlogPaws Co-Founder. 

Visit CWA's Contest Information and Entry page:

Visit BlogPaws Community at:


Copyright © 2016 Cat Writers' Association, Inc., All rights reserved.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp