View this email in your browser
Vol. 3, No. 1                                                                                                          Jan. 8, 2020

Cancer Institute Member Spotlight

Charles O'Brien, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism
UAMS College of Medicine
VA Research Scientist
The focus of Dr. O'Brien's research is to understand the cellular and molecular mechanisms that control bone remodeling.  Read more>
New Internal Research Support Opportunities
The Cancer Institute is very excited to announce two new internal research support opportunities available exclusively to Cancer Institute members!

The Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute Core Facility Voucher Program provides paid access to Cancer Institute Shared Resources. Application deadlines for this program are January 15, April 15 and October 15.

The Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute Team Science Award Program awards research grants of up to $100,000 to multi-PI research teams engaging in impactful and innovative cancer research. The application deadline for the 2020 Team Science Awards is January 31, 2020.

For more information and to download RFAs, visit the Research Funding Opportunities page on the Cancer Institute's website.
New Website Focused on Disclosing
Foreign Relationships and Activities
The UAMS Office of Research and Innovation has created a new website focused on disclosing foreign relationships and activities. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) recognizes research risks regarding peer review integrity, intellectual property and failure to disclose interests, and UAMS is committed to full transparency with external sponsors, industry and foreign entities.

This website will serve as an education resource for investigators to be able to:
•    Recognize a foreign component
•    Appropriately disclose a foreign component
•    Stay informed of UAMS institutional policies and educational opportunities regarding foreign relationships and activities
•    Stay informed of NIH policies and activities regarding foreign relationships and activities
Welcome New Cancer Institute Members
We offer a warm welcome to seven new full members and 12 new associate members who joined the Cancer Institute’s membership in 2019. These new members have an exciting road ahead as they become engaged in the community of collaborative cancer research here at the Cancer Institute. We look forward to working with you all!

College of Medicine
Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Alicia Byrd, Ph.D.
Stephanie Byrum, Ph.D.
Department of Psychiatry
Merideth Addicott, Ph.D.*
Department of Internal Medicine
Atul Kothari, M.D.
Carolina Schinke, M.D.
Donghoon Yoon, Ph.D.*
Department of Biomedical Informatics
Cody Ashby, Ph.D.
Christopher Wardell, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Jia Liu, Ph.D.*
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Shuk-Mei Ho, Ph.D., vice chancellor of research*
Yuet-kin “Ricky” Leung, Ph.D.
College of Pharmacy
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Darin Jones, Ph.D.*
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Chenghui Li, Ph.D.
Nalin Payakachat, M.Sc., Ph.D.
Benjamin Teeter, Ph.D.*
College of Nursing
Jennifer Gernat, M.N.Sc., O.C.N., R.N.-B.C.
Pearman Parker, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.N.
University of Arkansas
College of Engineering
Department of Biomedical Engineering

Narasimhan Rajaram, Ph.D.*
Young Hye Song, Ph.D.

*full member
Know someone who needs to be added to our email list? Send their name to Susan Van Dusen, communications manager.
Copyright © 2023 *|LIST:COMPANY|*, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp